The Return of Toy Story

A year from now we will welcome an “old friend” back to the big screen. On June 18, 2010 Disney/Pixar will release Toy Story 3, introducing a new generation of kids to one of my personal childhood favorites.

I was 9 years old when the first movie came out in 1995. To understand the genius of Toy Story, you would probably have to be a kid of the 80s or 90s. It was something that WE had never seen before. Life-like animation, beautiful color (HD who?), and a great story to boot. When I first heard that they were doing a 3rd movie, I wasn’t too excited. The first one was phenomenal, while the second movie was mediocre, and I couldn’t handle another butchering of my favorite movie. It’s kind of like when they put out one too many sequels of the Lion King…or Shrek. However as time went on, the trailer was released, and I realized how much I missed the gang,Woody, Buzz, Slinky Dog, Bo Peep, Rex, Sergeant, and the list goes on. It just wouldn’t be right for me to be against re-creating something that was such an integral memory of my childhood.

I’ll be 24 when the movie opens next year and I will be front and center on opening night. I’m sure I’ll be one of the oldest ones in there and I will probably be without a child….but I don’t care. I’m a child of the 90s and that’s what we do… we’re nostalgic and we make no apologies for it. (It’s our quiet way of admitting that we are getting older)

Check out the teaser below:

Uncategorized

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

