"My Sister’s Keeper" Review

My best friend is in town for the week and the first thing I said before she arrived was “Lets go see ‘My Sister’s Keeper’.”

Directed by Nick Cassevetes (Alpha Dog, The Notebook, John Q), My Sister’s Keeper is the story of Anna Fitzgerald and her sacrifice to keep her sister Kate alive. Since birth Anna has undergone various procedures and when she is told that she will have to give her kidney to her sister, she decides that enough is enough.

As a lifelong Cameron Diaz fan, I was intrigued to see her in her first role as a mother. She did not disappoint. In what I believe to be her best performance to date, Cameron delivers the emotion of a mother desperate to save her ailing daughter’s life. Jason Patric, whom I’ve loved since Sleepers, also gave an amazing performance.

There were a few low points in the movie, the courtroom scenes being one of them. I felt as if they were a little overdone, and at times seemed as if they were trying too hard to be emotional. Sofia Vassilieva gives a beautiful performance, to the point where I couldn’t imagine anyone else playing the role (Dakota Fanning was originally tapped to do this movie). Her depth and raw emotion really capture the essence of the film, she was indeed a scene stealer. I also have nothing but great things to say about Abigail Breslin, who never disappoints in a role. Look for this girl to have an amazing career ahead of her. I would even go as far as saying that she may be the ‘Natalie Portman’ of her generation.

All in all, I would give this movie 4 out 5 stars. It’s definitely a tear jerker and it made me want to go out and read the book. In the wake of so much death, audiences should walk away knowing that “Life isn’t measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away”
Uncategorized

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

