The final days of Sundance: Day 9 & 10

And just like that Sundance 2010 is in the past and we look to the coming months to see how all the films shown will fare.  There were no real highlights for day 9 & 10 as everyone prepared for the closing night ceremony. On day 9, alot of films had one final showing and the award winning films will be shown throughout day 10.

A big congratulations goes out to the cast and crew of ‘Winter Bones’, it took home the coveted Grand Jury Prize:Drama last night and ‘Animal Kingdom’ walked away with the World Cinema Jury Prize: Drama. Documentary wise ‘Restrepo’ came out on top, winning the Grand Jury Prize: Documentary and ‘Red Chapel’ won the World Cinema Jury Prize: Documentary.

A full list of winners after the jump.

Here’s a complete list of winners directly from the official Sundance festival website:

Grand Jury Prize: Documentary – Sebastien Junger and Tim Hetherington, Restrepo

Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic – Debra Granik, Winter’s Bone

World Cinema Jury Prize: Documentary – Mads Brügger, The Red Chapel

World Cinema Jury Prize: Dramatic – David Michôd, Animal Kingdom

Audience Award: U.S. Documentary – Davis Guggenheim, WAITING FOR SUPERMAN

Audience Award: U.s. Dramatic – Josh Radnor, happythankyoumoreplease

World Cinema Audience Award: Documentary – Lucy Walker, Waste Land

World Cinema Audience Award: Dramatic – Javier Fuentes-León, Contracorriente

Best of NEXT – Todd Barnes and Brad Barnes, Homewrecker

U.S. Directing Award: Documentary – Leon Gast, Smash His Camera

U.S. Directing Award: Dramatic – Eric Mendelsohn, 3 Backyards

World Cinema Directing Award: Documentary – Christian Frei, Space Tourists

World Cinema Directing Award: Dramatic – Juan Carlos Valdivia, Southern District

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award – Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini, Winter’s Bone

World Cinema Screenwriting Award – Juan Carlos Valdivia, Southern District

U.S. Documentary Editing Award – Penelope Falk, Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award – Joëlle Alexis, A Film Unfinished

Excellence in Cinematography Award: U.S. Documentary – Kirsten Johnson, Laura Poitras, The Oath

Excellence in Cinematography Award: U.S. Dramatic – Zak Mulligan, Obselidia

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Documentary – Kate McCullough and Michael Lavelle, His & Hers

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Dramatic – Mariano Cohn and Gastón Duprat, The Man Next Door

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize – Diane Bell, Obselidia

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Prize – Josh Fox, Gasland

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize – Mark Ruffalo, Sympathy For Delicious

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Prize – Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath, Enemies of the People

World Dramatic Special Jury Prize for Breakout Performance – Tatiana Maslany in Grown Up Movie Star

Awards for film in the Shorts program were presented at a separate ceremony on Tuesday night. The winners:

Jury Prize in U.S. Short Filmmaking – Drunk History

International Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking – The Six Dollar Fifty Man

Honorable Mention in Short Filmmaking – Born Sweet, Can We Talk?, Dock Ellis & the LSD No-No, Quadrangle, Rob and Valentyna in Scotland, Young Love

For a complete list of day 9 films click here.

For a complete list of day 10 films click here & here.

We hope you enjoyed The Real Reel’s Sundance highlights as much as we enjoyed bringing them to you. Here’s to next year in hoping that we will be at Park City amidst all the action.

One final video from the festival….until next year!!


No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: