A Real Reel soapbox: Hollywood and the reboot

Just this past week I’ve heard of three reboots being shopped around town, ‘Mr. & Mrs. Smith,’ ‘National Lampoon’s Vaction’ and ‘Daredevil.’ Which leads me to pose the question, has Hollywood lost their minds?

For starters, who would even want to see a rebooted version of ‘Daredevil?’  The first one was so painfully bad that when  I watched it a few years ago in high school, my class actually  begged our teacher to turn the film off and give us classwork  to do. Yes, actual classwork.

Oh and ‘Mr. & Mrs. Smith?’  Why?  Really, why?  And to make matters worse, a prequel.  Did we learn nothing from the failed ‘Dumb and Dumber’ prequel? And who would even want to see this movie without Brad and Angelina in it? I know the point of a reboot is to breathe  new life into a franchise but oh wait, ‘Mr. & Mrs. Smith’ isn’t a franchise!!! It was ONE film, that really only  did well because everyone wanted to see the two most beautiful people in the world  on-screen together.

Moving on…

To be absolutely frank,  a  ‘National Lampoon’s Vacation’ reboot will be the death of everything great in my childhood! I don’t even care if there is Chevy Chase and Beverly D’Angelo cameo, I’m not for this reboot. I repeat, NOT FOR THIS REBOOT! If the kids of today want to know about the greatness of the Griswolds, send them to Blockbuster!!

I’m stepping down from my soapbox now because I really could go on about this for hours.

Would love to hear what you guys think. Weigh in down below.

Uncategorized

2 Responses to “A Real Reel soapbox: Hollywood and the reboot”

  1. theresazphotography Reply February 13, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    I totally agree with you on DD, the first one was painful to watch, which is why I feel they really need to reboot this character. Frank Miller’s DD was great, if they work with him and do it right it could be a great reboot.

    I like the original vacation, so leave it alone.

    I didn’t see Mr and Mrs Smith, I’m not a Brad fan, I know, gasp, lol There are only a couple of movies that he was in that I liked, Fight Club and Thelma and Louise, which was a small part so he was good = P

    • I definitely understand the Brad Pitt thing. I’m not a huge fan of his either (with the exception of Seven, Fight Club and a few other films) but Mr. & Mrs. Smith was pretty entertaining.

Leave a Reply

