A Real Reel soapbox (Oscar Edition): Where is the love?

As I neared the end of my Official Oscar Prediction Ballot, I noticed something very off-putting; I only picked ‘Inglourious Basterds’ to win ONE out of the eight awards it was nominated for.

That is completely disheartening to me because I love Quentin (like seriously, can’t get enough of him) and in my honest opinion, ‘Basterds’ was his masterpiece. And I’m not the only one who thinks that, the man himself does as well. (google it)

Of course the category I predicted will earn ‘Inglourious Basterds’ its lone Oscar of the night is Best Supporting Actor. But I had initially picked Q.T. to take home the award for Original Screenplay as well, that was until Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker) had an award-winning weekend.

And honestly that really doesn’t mean anything because as stated in previous posts, Quentin was ineligible for the WGA award to begin with.  As for Boal’s BAFTA win?  I honestly couldn’t tell you.  But  what I can tell you  is, I can’t imagine ‘The Hurt Locker’ presumably winning Best Picture and Best Director, and not taking home Original Screenplay as well.

If you’re reading closely, you can probably already guess what most of my predictions are….

But if you want my REAL REAL opinion, ‘Inglourious Basterds’ hands down is my favorite nominated film and I would love to see it walk away with more awards. Preferably Original Screenplay & Best Picture.

But like I stated in last weeks podcast, dream scenario would be:  Best Picture: Avatar/Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow/ Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino/ Adapted: Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner….

Almost everyone goes home happy….except for Lee Daniels. 😦

My final predictions will be posted on March 2nd, the same day the final ballots are due, because let’s face it–anything can happen from now until then.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

