Could an inappropriate email hurt ‘The Hurt Locker’?

Oh the drama.

My favorite part of the awards season and with less than a week left before the final ballot due date, the gloves came off and then they were promptly and embarrassingly put back on.

Earlier in the week, Nick Chartier, a producer of ‘The Hurt Locker’ sent out the following email to Academy voters, credit goes to the Gold Derby for posting this on their awards season blog:

Read the email after the jump

I hope all is well with you. I just wanted to write you and say I hope you liked Hurt Locker and if you did and want us to win, please tell (name deleted) and your friends who vote for the Oscars, tell actors, directors, crew members, art directors, special effects people, if everyone tells one or two of their friends, we will win and not a $500M film, we need independent movies to win like the movies you and I do, so if you believe The Hurt Locker is the best movie of 2010, help us!

I’m sure you know plenty of people you’ve worked with who are academy members whether a publicist, a writer, a sound engineer, please take 5 minutes and contact them. Please call one or two persons, everything will help!

best regards,

Nicolas Chartier Voltage Pictures

Uhm, what? Really, an email?  Even I thought that was bush league when I first read it, so I can only imagine what actual members of the Academy thought.

Oh and I wonder what the $500 million dollar film was that they made reference to….hmmm...’A Serious Man?’

So this little email was posted on Tuesday and come to find out, it’s a huge violation of Academy rules…

Cue the apology email, posted yesterday:

Last week  I emailed  you regarding the Oscars next week, generally, and
“The Hurt Locker,” in particular.My email to you was out of line and not in the spirit of the celebration of
cinema that this acknowledgement is. I was even more wrong, both personally
and professionally, to ask for your help in encouraging others to vote for
the film and to comment on another movie. As  passionate as I am about the
film  we made, this was an extremely inappropriate email to send, and
something that the Academy strongly disapproves of in the rules.

My naivete, ignorance of the rules and plain stupidity as a first time
nominee  is not an excuse for this behavior and I strongly regret it. Being
nominated for an Academy Award is the ultimate honor and I should have taken
the time to read the rules.

I am emailing  each person this very same statement asking  to retract my
previous email and requesting that you please disregard it.

I truly apologize to anyone I have offended.

Sincerely yours,

best regards,

Nicolas Chartier
Voltage Pictures, LLC

Am I the only one who finds it hilarious that Chartier was still sending emails? Dude, send a formal letter!!

So what does this all mean for ‘The Hurt Locker’?

As of yesterday no statement had been released by the AMPAS, but according to Tom O’Neil (Gold Derby) the repercussions could be harsh.  This incident along with a recent article in Newsweek with veterans questioning the film’s accuracy, its safe to say that ‘The Hurt Locker’ is having a rough week.

At this point, I honestly think most voters have made up their minds but mishaps like this is usually all it takes to lure  a straggler to the other side. And in my opinion, ‘The Hurt Locker’ had the most momentum going into the Oscars, so this email was completely unnecessary.

But as always, what do you guys think??

Sound off down below or via twitter.

****Update****

Thanks to awards blogger Scott Feinberg who RT’d this from David Poland’s ‘The Hot Blog‘…’Avatar’ producer Jon Landau comments on the uncouth email.

2 Responses to “Could an inappropriate email hurt ‘The Hurt Locker’?”

  1. theresazphotography Reply February 25, 2010 at 11:54 am

    I cannot believe that he sent an email or even thought of sending anything at all asking them to help by urging other Academy members to vote in their favor.
    I’m glad I am not Nicolas Chartier becuase he may be out of a job if this costs Hurt Locker a win.
    Thanks for posting, you sure get some great info.
    TheresaZ

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update: The verdict on ‘Locker’ producer and his email shenanigans « The Real Reel - March 2, 2010

    […] last week when we posted (courtesy of The Envelope) the innapropriate emails from ‘The Hurt Locker’ producer Nicolas […]

Leave a Reply

