If I were a voting member of the Academy…

The final ballots for the 82nd annual Academy Awards are due today, marking the end of the 2009-2010 awards campaign season. Thank goodness!

Members of the Academy must have their ballots in  by 5pm/PT in order to be counted for the ceremony.  Now, I’m aware that I am not a voting member of the Academy, at least not yet. But I thought it would be fun to act like one today and post what my ballot would like if I were a voter.

Note: This isn’t my final prediction list, that will be posted a day before the Oscars.

Best Picture

1. Inglourious Basterds

2. The Hurt Locker

3. Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

4. An Education

5. Up

6. Up in The Air

7.Avatar

8. A Serious Man

9. District 9

10. The Blind Side

Leading Actor

Colin Firth in “A Single Man”

Supporting Actor

Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”

Leading Actress

Meryl Streep in “Julie & Julia”

Supporting Actress

Mo’Nique in ” Precious”

Animated Feature

Up

Art Direction

Avatar

Cinematography

The Hurt Locker

Costume Design

The Young Victoria

Directing

Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker”

Documentary Feauture

Burma VJ

Film Editing

Avatar

Foreign Language Film

A Prophet

Makeup

The Young Victoria

Original Score

Up

Original Song

“Almost There” from ‘The Princess and the Frog”

Short Animated Film

Logorama

Sound Editing

Avatar

Sound Mixing

Avatar

Visual Effects

Avatar

Adapted Screenplay

Nick Hornby for “An Education”

Original Screenplay

Quentin Tarantino for “Inglourious Basterds”

Live Action and Documentary shorts were both omitted because I have yet to see them, and I try to follow the rules.

There you have it, my completed ballot for the 82nd annual Academy Awards. Signed, sealed and delivered. Wanna know why I opted for Meryl? Stay tuned…

2 Responses to “If I were a voting member of the Academy…”

  1. theresazphotography Reply March 3, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Very cool post. I wish I had seen more of the movies listed so that I could try this out. I like the choices that you made from the ones that I have seen. It’s going to be so interesting to see how the Academy votes on Sunday.
    Oh, by the way, I am photo documenting the Oscar Prep in Hollywood, I shot there yesterday. I will have a post up with pictures on Sunday if you would like to take a look.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

