Review: Kick Ass

As cliché as this is about to sound, I must admit — ‘Kick Ass’ was pretty kick ass.  Imagine if Quentin Tarantino had a teenage son who was really into comic books and followed in the footsteps of his talented father. Yes, Quentin Jr would definitely  make ‘Kick Ass.’

Adapted from the comic book of the same name, ‘Kick Ass’ is for the superhero in all of us. Starring Aaron Johnson as Dave Lizewski, a practically invisible teenage boy who decides one day to become a super-hero. With no powers, no training and a lackluster weapon Dave becomes a praised vigilante, but when he gets mixed up with the town’s villain  he soon finds out that being a super-hero isn’t  all it’s cracked up to be.

I will admit, I was a bit skeptical about ‘Kick Ass’ going in because over-hyped films tend to always let me down. However thanks to the ongoing action and an amazing performance by Chloe Moretz, who owned every scene she was in, ‘Kick Ass’ turned out to be a lot of fun.

The film was original, funny, action-packed and also had a little romance tossed in for good measure.  And one thing I really enjoyed was that it wasn’t trying to be like anything  else; as far as super-hero films were concerned, ‘Kick Ass’ was  in a league of its own.

Definitely a movie for mature adults and I would recommend that all children under the age of 17 be left at home. The film has an ‘R’ rating and parents should definitely take heed due to the influence that some scenes could possibly have on young children. For instance, a 10-year-old girl unapologetically  killing a group of grown men–definitely something the kids shouldn’t be subjected to.

Other than that, ‘Kick Ass’ is great in my book.

My Grade: 8/10

One Response to “Review: Kick Ass”

  1. TheresaZphotography Reply April 18, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I can’t wait to see this. I really liked the trailers for it. My Son told me about the comic book a while back and it sounded really interesting and cool.

    I like how you mentioned it would be done by Quentin Jr. if there was a Quentin Jr. That has sold me even more. = )

Leave a Reply

