Casting News: Terrence Howard to play Nelson Mandela

Good evening movie lovers!! One more day until life becomes normal again, and I couldn’t be happier.  I miss posting and talking film, and I can’t wait to get back to it.  I only have a little break but while I’m here let’s get to some casting news:

It’s been announced that Terrence Howard will portray Nelson Mandela in the Winnie Mandela biopic. For those of you who don’t remember, Jennifer Hudson was cast months ago  to portray Mandela’s disputatious wife. There was a bit of an uproar about producer’s pick of Hudson, but that’s seemed to die down in recent months.

Now for those of you who are thinking that Howard is too young to portray the former South African president, that’s precisely the point. He will be portraying Mandela in his younger years.

Production on the film is scheduled to begin at the end of this month, and it’s my firm belief that if everyone involved plays their cards right, an Oscar nomination could be in their future.

4 Responses to “Casting News: Terrence Howard to play Nelson Mandela”

  1. TheresaZphotography Reply May 6, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    WoW! I agree, if it’s done well it could be an Oscar contender. Any ideas who will be directing?

    Thanks for the update.

    One more day. YaY!

    • Darrell Roodt. He’s a South African director, so the authenticity of this film should be AMAZING!!!

      And I am uber excited that my mini-summer vacation begins at 3:30pm tomorrow afternoon. lol.

  2. TheresaZphotography Reply May 7, 2010 at 12:51 am

    Awesome! Thanks for letting me know.

    I just found out that the Inception premiere will be on July 13th at the Chinese Theatre. If they don’t change the location you know I will be there weather they give ma press pass or not. I want a shot of Leo.

    What will you do on your mini vacation, if I may ask?
    Have an awesome and safe time!

    • Can’t wait to see your photos of the premiere!!! That’s so cool you get to attend things like that.

      As for my mini-vacay, I start a PR internship with a Children’s Shelter on Tuesday, so I’m really just looking forward to that and not having school for a few weeks. I like torture so I’m going to summer school. Lol.

Leave a Reply

