Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA to make his directorial debut

Well this sounds interesting.

The word according to Deadline is that Universal has made a deal with RZA to finance and distribute ‘The Man With the Iron Fists.’

The ‘kung fu extravaganza’, as they call it, was written by RZA and Eli Roth, and RZA will not only direct the film but he will star in it as well. Appearing in films like Derailed, American Gangster and Funny People, RZA is no stranger to the big screen.

Here’s a little background info on the project:

“It started with a trip RZA and I took with Quentin to Iceland in 2005,” Roth said. “We flew back, ended up snowed in Boston, staying at my parents’ house in Newton. Turned out that my dad and RZA grew up in Brooklyn and went to the same Brownsville  junior high school and swam in the same public pool. He hooked me on his dream of directing and reinventing the Kung Fu movie genre. It reminded me of my love of horror. RZA went to the set of Kill Bill, and got a master directing course from Quentin. Nothing was happening with the script, and I formed this company, Arcade, with Eric Newman, that made Last Exorcism, a film that comes out in August through Lionsgate. We were looking for projects and I suggested RZA’s script. I wrote the latest draft with him. While I was away shooting Inglourious Basterds, RZA went to China to shoot test footage on his own, with all the choreography. It was very visual and I think he will bring to life a script that mixes kung fu with a spaghetti Western mindset and a hip hop influence.

The budget is set at a little under $20 million and production will begin in Hong Kong in September. No word yet on if Roth will also star in the film.

Honestly, I can’t help but think that this film will be the same quality of ‘The Last Dragon.’  Cheesy yet epic, all at the same time.  I’m excited for it and can respect RZA for doing something outside the box.

news source: Deadline

Uncategorized

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

