Reel News Blurb: The Joker will not return for ‘Batman 3’

When asked in interview with Empire Magazine if he would recast the Joker in Batman 3, Christopher Nolan had this to say:

“No”, says Nolan emphatically and unhesitatingly. He resists elaborating simply because, quite understandably, he says, “I just don’t feel comfortable talking about it”

And that folks is what you call an executive decision!!

Honestly,  I respect Nolan’s judgment— everyone will remember Heath Ledger for that role and that’s exactly how he should be remembered.  Now I’m sure some hot-shot director will come along years from now and try to recreate the moment, but for Nolan it’s obviously a very personal decision and one that I think is for the best.

3 Responses to “Reel News Blurb: The Joker will not return for ‘Batman 3’”

  1. TheresaZphotography Reply June 4, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I read about this earlier, I think on Cinema Blend and I was happy to hear it. I know there are many interpretations of the Joker character and I was in awe of what Heath Ledger did with it. He did an amazing job and IMO I think they should move on and possibly give another actor/actress a chance to carve their own character in Nolan’s Batman films.

  2. TheresaZphotography Reply June 4, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    LoL Nerdgasm, I just saw that, I love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Reel News Blurb: The Joker will not return for ‘Batman 3′ « The Real Reel -- Topsy.com - June 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by sandeep bhatia, TheRealReelBlog. TheRealReelBlog said: Reel News Blurb: The Joker will not return for 'Batman 3' : http://wp.me/pKKqu-Pl […]

Leave a Reply

