2011 Writers Guild Awards nominations announced

The screen nominees for the 2011 Writers Guild of America Awards have just been posted, and once again all of our favorites plus one really big surprise has made the cut.  Joining the likes of ‘Black Swan’, ‘Inception’ and ‘The Kids Are All Right’ on the original screenplay nominee list is Nicole Holofcener’s ‘Please Give’, the indie film starring Catherine Keener and Rebecca Hall.  ‘The Fighter’ completes the list of original screenplay nominees.

On the adapted front Aaron Sorkin and the Coen brothers are joined by Ben Affleck, Peter Craig, and Aaron Stockard for ‘The Town’, as well as  John Requa and Glenn Ficarra for ‘I Love You Phillip Morris’.

With surprise nominees like ‘I Love You Phillip Morris’ and ‘Please Give’, and notable snubs like ‘Winter’s Bone’ and ‘Blue Valentine’, this is shaping up to be a pretty interesting awards season.

The Writers Guild of America will present their awards on both the east and west coast on Feb. 5.

For a full list of television nominees, click here.


Black Swan, Screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; Story by Andres Heinz; Fox Searchlight

The Fighter, Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Paramount Pictures

Inception, Written by Christopher Nolan; Warner Bros.

The Kids Are All Right, Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg; Focus Features

Please Give, Written by Nicole Holofcener; Sony Pictures Classics


127 Hours, Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; Based on the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston; Fox Searchlight

I Love You Phillip Morris, Written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steven McVicker; Roadside Attractions

The Social Network, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich; Sony Pictures

The Town, Screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; Based on the novel Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan; Warner Bros.

True Grit, Screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; Based on the novel by Charles Portis; Paramount Pictures


Enemies of the People, Written, Directed, Filmed and Produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath; International Film Circuit

Freedom Riders, Written, Produced and Directed by Stanley Nelson; International Film Circuit

Gasland, Written and Directed by Josh Fox; HBO Documentary Films and International WOW Company

Inside Job, Produced, Written and Directed by Charles Ferguson; Co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt; Sony Pictures Classics

The Two Escobars, Written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist; ESPN Films

Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin’ About Him)?, Written and Directed by John Scheinfeld; Lorber Films


No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: